This Morning

I woke up at four am on the dot for no particular reason. The sky was still dark, a cool breeze on my cheeks from the window I fling wide open before I go to sleep. I reached my arm out towards the outside air, letting a bit of chill under the blanket. Four in the morning is early for even me, but aside from the sleepy-leg cramp, I was okay with it.

Slowly making coffee this morning, thinking about mothers day and children and the animals and lambs and other maternal roles that I have had over time. As I sit here, listening to the birds outside and some quiet music,  I feel gentle and peaceful. I’m not sure what I want to do for the day, but it feels like a good morning.

Leave a Reply

