Dreadlocks.

When I was younger, I had dreadlocks. They were fat, and quite short- just above my shoulders. I was proud of them, nonetheless. They were a goal of mine from the time I was in middle school, and I was nineteen when I finally plucked up the courage to back comb the shit out of my hair and actually go through with it.

They lasted for, oohhhh, six months. I had done them too fat and they weren’t going the way I wanted them to. So I combed them out. Let me tell you, that was a very long day of conditioner and many a broken hairbrush.

I have decided I’m going to lock up my hair again. After some careful consideration, and a ton of research, I’m going to get my hair back to its natural hair color (brown with some grey in there) and then dreadlock my hair. I’m pretty excited about it, and this time, I’m going to do it differently.

First of all, I’m going to do thinner locks. I’m not going to use much for product, just a little wax. I’m going to take my time. I’m going to recruit a couple of friends. It’s going to be fun. They’re going to look presentable, clean, and beautiful. I’m also going to make some extensions so they aren’t so short; you can just crochet in synthetic extension so that you don’t look so absurd.

I’m pretty excited. No, I’m super excited. Look for some before & after shots coming up real soon, or maybe even a video if you’re lucky.

Boom! Putting it out there and I’m a-gonna get it done.

Leave a Reply

