Maine Government Embarrasses Me

My reasons:

1. Paul LePage. I don’t think I have to go any further into my explanation for that, I’m fairly certain the entire state is embarrassed of him at this point.

2. This asshole.

Hem hem, Representative Lawrence Lockman. This man is a fine specimen. One for the books. He’s a modern gentleman, with a sense of equality for all. He represents his citizens in a fair manner, with equality for gender, race, sexual orientation, creed…

He also believes that a man should be allowed to rape a woman, legally. 

I’ll explain my logic.

1. Assuming: Abortion is legal in the State of Maine,

AND

2. Assuming: Rape is the same as abortion (actually, it’s less awful),

3. Then: Rape should be legal.

Am I making sense yet?

No? That’s because it makes NO sense.  Not only does it make sense, but as a woman, a Mainer, and a survivor of rape, it is probably one of the most foul things I’ve heard in a long time.

Here’s the quote, it’s from 1990, but even if Hitler apologized today for his actions, I’d still hang him high:

“If a woman has (the right to abortion), why shouldn’t a man be free to use his superior strength to force himself on a woman? At least the rapist’s pursuit of sexual freedom doesn’t (in most cases) result in anyone’s death.”

I can’t even begin to relate how repulsive that statement is.

After decades of medical research and human rights advancements, this man takes a medical procedure which is fully legal (even if controversial), and compares it to the rape of a woman from a man of superior strength. And thinks that’s ok. He thinks it should be ok.

Even if he didn’t mean it how he said it, which I hope like hell he didn’t, it still is an awful analogy.

Rep. Lawrence Lockman actually has a very long list of bigoted, hateful, racist, sexist, and generally awful things he has said. And I admit, some are decades old. But doesn’t that just prove the point further, that he has a long history of hate and for some reason he is representing people in the state of Maine?

I guess it reflects on those who voted him in. They didn’t do their homework, that’s for sure.

But the point is, a man who is an active part of my government in the state of Maine has said that he thinks if abortion is legal, so should rape be.

I also would like to answer Rep. Lawrence Lockman’s rhetorical question posed in his quote. Why shouldn’t a man be free to force himself onto a woman?

1. Because it is illegal.

2. It is immoral.

3. It is hateful.

4. It is demoralizing.

5. It is illegal.

And you know, it  may not, “in most cases,” result in death, but I can tell you first hand that it feels an awful lot like dying.

Mainers, reassess who is representing you. Good grief.

 

Leave a Reply

