Reading to the Wee Person

I try, really really hard, to read for a good amount of time before Will goes to bed every night. Unfortunately since this semester has started, I’ve been less-able to do this. But with Scott’s help and my own ability to multi-task, I’ve been jumping back on the bandwagon.

We were, for the longest time, reading Robert Louis Stevenson’s “Treasure Island.” It’s hard to read out loud (entertainingly, because there are no pictures in my book,) and at the same time edit out bloody parts of the book, while keeping a semblance of a story going. But we’re about halfway through the book, with plenty to go.

Tonight, however, I chose to begin reading my 1912 copy of J.M. Barrie’s “Peter and Wendy.” The actual book I have is a first American edition. So if you’ve seen Hook (the movie with Robin Williams) then you’ve seen what my book looks like; it’s green, with beautiful gold embossing on the front of Peter, two mermaids, and a crocodile. It’s beautiful. I’ll put a photo at the bottom, it’s care-worn and worth not even a fraction of a perfectly-untouched copy, but I wouldn’t part with it for the world. It’s priceless to me.

And there are very few pictures in it, but the ones that are there- they are beautiful.

So tonight, Will was exhausted. Scott is in Portland for the night, and I’m home with the dog and the Midge. And I chose to begin reading Peter and Wendy.

I read for almost an hour. I was so engrossed in the story that when I looked over to see how much Will was loving it, he was passed out, drooling.

Ok. So maybe the lack of pictures was a little boring. He was tired. Whatever.

But I haven’t read this book in a decade. It is so beautiful. Here’s my favorite passage from what we read tonight; it’s a description of Mrs. Darling, Wendy’s mother. 

 

“Her romantic mind was like the tiny boxes, one within the other, that come from the puzzling East, however many you discover there is always one more; and her sweet mocking mouth had one kiss on it that Wendy could never get, though there it was, perfectly conspicuous in the right-hand corner… 

… Mr. Darling…nipped in first, and so he got her. He got all of her, except the innermost box and the kiss. He never knew about the box, and in time he gave up trying for the kiss. Wendy thought Napoleon could have got it, but I can picture him trying, and then going off in a passion, slamming the door.”

 

Image

Leave a Reply

