Grandparents / Haven

I grew up in a lovely coastal town called Cape Elizabeth. When I was younger, there were far fewer developments, and many more nature-type places. I remember roaming around my neighborhood with a pack of children, using our imaginations and making forts and playing games. I have only fond memories of the town, in truth. 

I’m glad that I don’t live there anymore, though. At least in some ways. Now, all the wooded areas have been developed. And then, as if to insult the very places the developments have destroyed, they name them after the woods or farm that was overtaken to create rows of identical houses…

Happily, there are still a few beautiful places that haven’t succumbed to cookie-cutter houses. A couple are farms, there are a few gorgeous state parks and beaches, and some private residences. One is my grandparent’s place. It’s a farm house I’ve spent more time in than I could dare count, and it is hands-down one of my favorite places. I’ve attended a wedding in their field, had countless Saturday night suppers, and have experienced many holidays and random pop-ins. 

I spent a day this summer photographing their fields and home, here’s what I came up with.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Grandparents / Haven

Leave a Reply

