Epoxy

So, as I began writing about one of my farm escapades, I thought: Hey, everyone should know about what happens when one of your sheep has horns which grow into his face/neck/body/whatever.

In case you ever run into this exact situation, I’m going to tell you one way to handle it.

I bought a May ram named Elliot. He’s awesome. He’s half Cheviot, and half Scottish Blackface. Unfortunately, his horns grew too quickly and directly towards his neck.

I’ve been closely monitoring the situation, but this past week I came to the breaking point: His horns were rubbing his neck raw and I had to do something.

I called the vet. My local large animal vet happens to be mostly equine, but they said they’d take a look and fix something up.

So, this morning, I loaded Elliot into the truck. In a kennel. Beso’s kennel, in fact.

Elliot wasn’t overly concerned by it. Got him to the vet, left him in a stall, and pretty much crossed my fingers on my drive to work in hopes for the best.

And then I didn’t really hear from the vet until late afternoon. I wasn’t sure what they were going to do. I mean, they openly admitted they very rarely dealt with sheep, but that one of their vets did work on large sheep farms. (We can call this vet Dr. McDreamy.) My hopes were high, although I was fairly nervous.

What were they gonna do?

Saw his horns all the way off? Rasp them down? Cauterize him? Would there be blood? Something traumatic? Something easy? Would he end up with those badass brass caps on the end of his horns? (The sheep equivalent of brass knuckles, in my opinion.)

Turns out, they did this:

Image

Dr. McDreamy goes, “He’s basically got a horn piercing,” I snicker a bit at that.

So what they did first was saw a bit of his horn off, just about an inch and a half. (They saved it for me, my first instinct was sell it into the Asian black market as some sort of medicinal thing…) Then, they screwed two very heavy weights onto each horn in the hopes that as the horns grow, the weights will pull them outward.

Then, for good measure, to make sure that the weights (Which are screwed in) don’t fall out, they put about six pounds of epoxy on each of his horns.

So instead of like… brass knobs, (You know what I’m talking about.) he’s got epoxy knobs.

But hey, whatever, he went from this:

Image

To hopefully cured of this absurd horn ordeal. Really, it’s just tiring.

I was also very worried, and now I am not.

Farm profile to come this weekend, I know you’re all disappointed by my sheep chronicles and not a farm profile.

Pip pip,

The Maine Farm Chick

Leave a Reply

